Each year, MASA provides an opportunity to recognize outstanding members and colleagues who are dedicated leaders and advocates for children and Minnesota education. We are pleased to announce this year’s recipients.

Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award
presented on Thursday morning, March 7 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference
Sponsored by ATS&R Planners/Architects/Engineers

The recipient is selected by a panel of representatives convened by MASA from a variety of Minnesota education organizations.  Each candidate is judged on the following criteria: leadership for learning, communication, professionalism, and community involvement.

2019 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award Recipient
Jay Haugen, Superintendent of the Farmington Area Public Schools

MASA Distinguished Service Award
presented on Thursday morning, March 7 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

The recipient of this award will have a positive history/association with MN public education. The recipient will have contributed/participated in activities that improve Minnesota’s public education system on a statewide basis and have a reputation as a person that willingly goes the extra mile.

2019 MASA Distinguished Service Award Recipient
Janet Mohr, Retired Executive Director, Minnesota Board of School Administrators MASA

Polaris Leadership Award
presented at the MASA Fall Conference

The recipient of this award must be a current active or associate member of MASA, an exemplary school leader with twenty or more years of administrative experience.

2019 MASA Polaris Leadership Award Recipient
Gerald Ness, Superintendent, Fergus Falls Public Schools

Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award
presented Friday morning, March 8 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

The recipient of this award must be an active or associate female member of MASA, must have demonstrated the attributes of leadership and involvement in MASA and other educational organizations as did Kay E. Jacobs.

2019 Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award Recipient
Cindy Amoroso, Superintendent, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

Outstanding Central Office Administrator Awards
presented on Thursday and Friday, March 7-8 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

The recipients of this award must be non-superintendent MASA members who are Central Office Administrators exhibiting a willingness to risk, possess strong communication skills, are progressive change agents and who have high expectations for self and others. Two awards will be presented annually, one from greater MN and one from the metro area.

Outstanding Central Office Administrator – Metro Recipient
Robert McDowell, Executive Director of Learning and Innovation, Stillwater Area Public Schools

Outstanding Central Office Administrator – Greater MN Recipient
Kyle Breitkreutz, Director of Technology, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

MASA Administrators of Excellence
presented Friday morning, March 8 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

This award honors an administrator annually from each of the nine MASA regions. The nominee must have provided service to MASA through their active participation in a MASA district, regional and state organizational and/or leadership functions and activities, demonstrated active involvement in educational and community affairs, be regarded as a role model by MASA colleagues and be a practicing administrator and a member of MASA.

Region 1: Jeff Pesta, Superintendent, Kenyon-Wanamingo School District

Region 2: Bill Adams, Superintendent, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton School District

Region 3: Chris Fenske, Superintendent, Lakeview Public Schools

Region 4: Diane Cordes, Superintendent, Breckenridge Public Schools

Region 5: Vern Capelle, Superintendent, Upsala Area Schools

Region 6: Scott Thielman, Superintendent, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

Region 7: William Crandall, Superintendent, Lake Superior & Cook County School Districts

Region 8: Jeff Bisek, Superintendent, Mahnomen Public Schools

Region 9: Teri Staloch, Superintendent, Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools

Leave a Reply