Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award
presented on Thursday morning, March 11 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference
Sponsored by ATS&R Planners/Architects/Engineers

The recipient is selected by a panel of representatives convened by MASA from a variety of Minnesota education organizations.  Each candidate is judged on the following criteria: leadership for learning, communication, professionalism, and community involvement.

2021 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award Recipient
Wayne Kazmierczak, Superintendent of the White Bear Lake Area Schools

MASA Distinguished Service Award
No recipient selected for 2021.

The recipient of this award will have a positive history/association with MN public education. The recipient will have contributed/participated in activities that improve Minnesota’s public education system on a statewide basis and have a reputation as a person that willingly goes the extra mile. 

Polaris Leadership Award
presented at the MASA Fall Conference

The recipient of this award must be a current active or associate member of MASA, an exemplary school leader with twenty or more years of administrative experience.

2021 MASA Polaris Leadership Award Recipient
David Krenz, Superintendent, Austin Public Schools

Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award
presented Friday morning, March 12 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

The recipient of this award must be an active or associate female member of MASA, must have demonstrated the attributes of leadership and involvement in MASA and other educational organizations as did Kay E. Jacobs.

2021 Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award Recipient
Laine Larson, Superintendent, Brainerd Public Schools

Richard Green Scholar
presented at the MASA Fall Conference

Renee Corneille, Superintendent, St. Anthony-New Brighton School District

MASA’s Richard Green Scholars Program honors the scholarly work and professional development of Minnesota school leaders through the award of an annual recognition for the research, writing, and presentation of one paper reflecting the practice of excellent school leadership.

Outstanding Central Office Administrator Awards
presented on Friday, March 11 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

The recipients of this award must be non-superintendent MASA members who are Central Office Administrators exhibiting a willingness to risk, possess strong communication skills, are progressive change agents and who have high expectations for self and others. Two awards will be presented annually, one from greater MN and one from the metro area.

Outstanding Central Office Administrator – Metro Recipient
Tim Wald, Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations, White Bear Lake Area Schools

Outstanding Central Office Administrator – Greater MN Recipient
Michelle Krell, Director of Teaching & Learning, Owatonna Public Schools

MASA Administrators of Excellence
presented Friday morning, March 11 at the MASA/MASE Spring Conference

This award honors an administrator annually from each of the nine MASA regions. The nominee must have provided service to MASA through their active participation in a MASA district, regional and state organizational and/or leadership functions and activities, demonstrated active involvement in educational and community affairs, be regarded as a role model by MASA colleagues and be a practicing administrator and a member of MASA.

Region 1: Tamara Champa, Superintendent, Pine Island Public Schools

Region 2: Ryan Laager, Superintendent, Belle Plaine Public Schools

Region 3: Sherri Broderius, Superintendent, MACCRAY School District

Region 4: Bryan Thygeson, Superintendent, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton School District

Region 5: Mike Malmberg, Superintendent, Pillager Public Schools

Region 6: Matt Schoen, Superintendent, Delano Public Schools

Region 7: Reggie Engebritson, Superintendent, St. Louis County & Mountain Iron-Buhl Schools

Region 8: Bob Jaszczak, Superintendent, Kittson Central School District

Region 9: Joe Gothard, Superintendent, Saint Paul Public Schools

Leave a Reply