The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) is inviting nominations for the 2021 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year. The recipient of this prestigious award will be a candidate among other state winners for the National Superintendent of the Year. The 2021 AASA National Superintendent of the Year will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education, February. 18–20, 2021 New Orleans, LA.

The program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our state’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor, or top leader of a school system in Minnesota who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated. This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents.

Each candidate for the National Superintendent of the Year Award must first be named by their state association as the State Superintendent of the Year.

Each State Superintendent of the Year is judged on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.
  • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.
  • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
  • Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues.

The nomination deadline is Aug. 1, 2020.

Please nominate your superintendent at
You will then be directed to the National Association page. Click on the NOMINATE button.

For further information contact:

Jeanna Vohnoutka, Associate
MASA – Minnesota Association of School Administrators
Phone: 651-789-4062


Jennifer Rooney, Assistant Director, Meetings & Awards
AASA – The School Superintendents Association
1615 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703-875-0709

Past Recipients of the Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award

2020                 David Law, Anoka-Hennepin School District

2019                 Jay Haugen, Farmington Area Public Schools

2018                 Deb Henton, North Branch Area Schools

2017                 Curt Tryggestad, Eden Prairie Schools

2016                 Daniel Bittman, Sauk Rapids-Rice School District

2015                 Sandra Lewandowski, Intermediate District 287

2014                 Kate Maguire, Osseo Area Schools

2013                 Jeff Olson, Saint Peter Public Schools

2012                 Chris Richardson, Northfield Public Schools

2011                 Scott Staska, Rocori Public Schools

2010                 Patty Phillips, No. St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale School District

2009                 Dennis Peterson, Minnetonka Public Schools

2008                 Mark Robertson, Fridley Public Schools

2007                 Don Helmstetter, Spring Lake Park Schools

2006                 Gary Prest, Bloomington Public Schools

2005                 Ben Kanninen, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

2004                 Kay Worner, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

2003                 Ken Dragseth, Edina Public Schools

2002                 Carol Johnson, Minneapolis Public Schools

2001                 Theodore Blaesing, White Bear Lake Schools

2000                 Laverne (Bob) Lageson, Big Lake Public Schools

1999                 Michael L. Kremer, Hopkins Public Schools

1998                 Gregory A. Vandal, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools

1997                 Chris L. Huber, Spring Lake Park Schools

1996                 James R. Rickabaugh, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

1995                 Donald Groth, Kasson-Mantorville Public Schools

1994                 Lowell D. Larson, Richfield Public Schools

1993                 Marl Ramsey, Osseo Area Schools

1992                 John R. McClellan, Centennial School District

1991                 James R. Walker, North Branch Area Schools

1990                 Donald R. Draayer, Minnetonka Public Schools

1989                 Gerald L. McCoy, Eden Prairie Public Schools

1988                 Glenn G. Matejka, Hutchinson Public Schools

Leave a Reply