Nominations are now open for the 2020 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year. The recipient of this prestigious award will be a candidate among other state winners for National Superintendent of the Year. The 2020 AASA National Superintendent of the Year will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education, February 13–15, 2020, San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, CA.

The program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our state’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor or top leader of a school system in Minnesota who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated. This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents.

Each candidate for the National Superintendent of the Year Award must first be named by their state association as the State Superintendent of the Year.

Each State Superintendent of the Year is judged on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.
  • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.
  • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
  • Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues.

The nomination deadline is Aug. 1, 2019.

Please nominate your superintendent at
You will then be directed to the National Association page. Click on the NOMINATE button.

For further information contact:

Jeanna Vohnoutka, Associate
MASA – Minnesota Association of School Administrators
Phone: 651-789-4062


Jennifer Rooney, Assistant Director, Meetings & Awards
AASA – The School Superintendents Association
1615 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703-875-0709

Recipients of the Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award:

2019 Jay Haugen, Farmington Area Public Schools
2018 Deb Henton, Superintendent, North Branch Area Schools
2017 Curt Tryggestad, Superintendent of Eden Prairie Schools
2016 Daniel Bittman, Sauk Rapids-Rice School District
2015 Sandra Lewandowski, Intermediate District 287
2014 Kate Maguire, Osseo Area Schools
2013 Jeff Olson, Saint Peter Public Schools
2012 Chris Richardson, Northfield Public Schools
2011 Scott Staska, Rocori Public Schools
2010 Patty Phillips, No. St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale School District
2009 Dennis Peterson, Minnetonka Public Schools
2008 Mark Robertson, Fridley Public Schools
2007 Don Helmstetter, Spring Lake Park Schools
2006 Gary Prest, Bloomington Public Schools
2005 Ben Kanninen, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District
2004 Kay Worner, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools
2003 Ken Dragseth, Edina Public Schools
2002 Carol Johnson, Minneapolis Public Schools
2001 Theodore Blaesing, White Bear Lake Schools
2000 Laverne (Bob) Lageson, Big Lake Public Schools
1999 Michael L. Kremer, Hopkins Public Schools
1998 Gregory A. Vandal, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools
1997 Chris L. Huber, Spring Lake Park Schools
1996 James R. Rickabaugh, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District
1995 Donald F. Groth, Kasson-Mantorville Public Schools
1994 Lowell D. Larson, Richfield Public Schools
1993 Marl Ramsey, Osseo Area Schools
1992 John R. McClellan, Centennial School District
1991 James R. Walker, North Branch Area Schools
1990 Donald R. Draayer, Minnetonka Public Schools
1989 Gerald L. McCoy, Eden Prairie Public Schools
1988 Glenn G. Matejka, Hutchinson Public Schools

Leave a Reply